2011 Finalists


The finalists for the 2011 Paul Hornung Award were announced on December 9, 2011at the annual Louisville Sports Commission Breakfast at the KFC Yum! Center in downtown Louisville, Ky.

Joe Adams, Arkansas

Brandon Boykin, Georgia

LaMichael James, Oregon

Eric Page, Toledo

"It's extremely difficult in this day and age for anyone to play multiple positions in college football and consistently perform at a high level," Hornung said. "The four finalists for the 2011 Paul Hornung Award had fantastic seasons, and I want to congratulate them all for doing whatever their coaches ask to help their team succeed."

Arkansas senior Joe Adams saw action as a punt returner, wide receiver and running back in 2011 and was named SEC Special Teams Player of the Year. He led the SEC in punt return yardage and is the only player in the country to return three punts for touchdowns this season. Adams caught 49 passes for 630 yards and averaged over 15 yards per carry when his number was called out of the backfield. Arkansas will face Kansas State in the AT&T Cotton Bowl on Jan. 6th in Cowboys Stadium in Dallas.

Georgia senior Brandon Boykin, a starting cornerback, saw action across the field in 2011, playing defensive back, kickoff returner, punt returner, tailback, quarterback in a "wild-dog" set, receiver and coverage man on kickoff and punt teams. Boykin helped lead the Bulldogs to a 10-game winning streak and a spot in the Southeastern Conference Championship game. On defense, he had 31 tackles and nine pass breakups. On offense, he had touchdowns rushing and receiving. On special teams, he returned a combined 47 kicks. Georgia will face Michigan State in the Outback Bowl on Jan. 2 in Tampa.

Oregon junior LaMichael James, the nation's leading rusher, also returned 12 punts for the Ducks on their way to a victory in the first-ever Pac 12 Championship game. James put up astounding numbers during the 2011 season. He had 225 carries for 1,646 yards and 17 touchdowns, caught 17 passes for 210 yards and a touchdown despite missing two games with an elbow injury. He earned All-America selection for the second consecutive year. James earned consensus All-American honors a year ago. Oregon will face Wisconsin in the Rose Bowl Jan. 2.

Toledo junior Eric Page made first-team All-Mid American Conference at wide receiver, kickoff returner and punt returner, only the third player in FBS to make first-team all-league at three positions. Page compiled 112 receptions, 1,123 receiving yards and 10 touchdowns, threw a touchdown pass and returned a punt for touchdown. He returned 30 kicks for over 700 yards and also saw action at quarterback on several trick plays. Toledo will face Air Force in the Military Bowl presented by Northrop Grumman on Dec. 28 in Washington D.C.

Other individuals receiving votes were (in alphabetical order): Keenan Allen (California), Kenjon Barner (Oregon), Jyruss Edwards (Louisiana-Lafayette), T.Y. Hilton (FIU), Jayron Hosley (Virginia Tech), Collin Klein (Kansas State), Keshawn Martin (Michigan State), Jamal Miles (Arizona State), Isaiah Pead (Cincinnati), Bobby Rainey (Western Kentucky), Trent Richardson (Alabama), Denard Robinson (Michigan), Jonathan Warzeka (Air Force), Sammy Watkins (Clemson), David Wilson (Virginia Tech) and Robert Woods (USC).

Copyright 2012. The Paul Hornung Award. All Rights Reserved.