Archer’s 350-Yard Outing Headlines PHA Weekly Honor Roll

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Monday, Oct. 1, 2012) – Three players that combined for nearly 750 all-purpose yards are included in this week’s Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll. Kent State’s Dri Archer led the way with an NCAA single-game high 350 all-purpose yards in a win over Ball State this weekend. Nebraska’s Ameer Abdullah and Arizona State’s Jamal Miles also made major contributions in conference wins for their clubs. The weekly recognition honors versatile, single-game performances throughout the season by FBS football players nationwide.

The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

Fans can now vote for the Paul Hornung Award finalists at, powered by Texas Roadhouse. All individuals that were on the preseason watch list or are selected as a Weekly Honor Roll selection are eligible for the fan voting. Fan voting counts as an additional vote on the selection committee.

Week Five Honorees:

• Kent State’s Dri Archer had 8 rushes for 72 yards, three receptions for 104 yards and two touchdowns and four kick returns for 174 yards with a touchdown in a 45-43 win over Ball State.

• Nebraska’s Ameer Abdullah had ten carries for 70 yards, three catches for 22 yards, three punt returns for 18 yards and five kick off returns for 142 yards in a 30-27 win over Wisconsin on Sept. 29. He finished with 252 all-purpose yards.

• Arizona State's Jamal Miles caught three pass for 41 yards, rushed twice for 14 yards, returned two punts for 22 yards and three kickoffs for 66 yards in the Sun Devils 27-17 win over California on Sept. 29.


Past Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll Selections

Week One: Giovani Bernard (North Carolina), Matt Brown (Temple), Marqise Lee (USC) and Venric Mark (Northwestern).

Week Two: Venric Mark (Northwestern), Johnthan Banks (Mississippi State) and Steven Manfro (UCLA).

Week Three: Antonio Andrews (Western Kentucky), De’Anthony Thomas (Oregon) and Duke Johnson (Miami).

Week Four: Duke Johnson (Miami) and Tavon Austin (West Virginia).


Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse
Created by the Louisville Sports Commission in 2010, the Paul Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award is designed to promote college football and help preserve the legacy of one of Kentucky's best-known and accomplished athletes who has always called Louisville home. Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame and NFL MVP for the Green Bay Packers, set a single season NFL scoring record that stood 46 years. Paul is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame, and Vince Lombardi once called Hornung, “The most versatile man ever to play the game.” A national selection committee comprised of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award, and this year fan voting on Facebook will comprise the 17th vote. All votes are tabulated independently by regional accounting firm Dean Dorton Allen Ford. The winner is honored at a banquet presented by Jewish Hospital Sports Medicine in late January each year in downtown Louisville. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Louisville Sports Commission
The Louisville Sports Commission is a Kentucky-based 501 c-3 organization whose mission is to attract, host and create quality sporting events and activities in the Louisville area that increase economic vitality; enhance the quality of life; promote healthy lifestyles; and brand Louisville as a great place to live, work and play. For more information, visit and follow the Louisville Sports Commission on Twitter (@SportsinLou) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Texas Roadhouse
Based in Louisville, Kentucky, Texas Roadhouse opened its doors in 1993. In just 19 years, Texas Roadhouse has grown to more than 380 locations in 48 states. The company is famous for hand-cut steaks, made-from-scratch sides, fresh-baked bread, and its lively atmosphere. In 2007 and 2008 Forbes magazine ranked the company as one of the 200 Best Small Companies and in 2009 the company was ranked “Best Value” by readers of Consumer Reports magazine. For more information, visit

Copyright 2012. The Paul Hornung Award. All Rights Reserved.