Four Players Earn Repeat Honors as PHA Honor Roll Selections

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Monday, Oct. 8, 2012) - Four familiar faces that racked up big yards on offense and special teams were selected for the Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll at the midpoint in the 2012 season. Northwestern’s Venric Mark earned the honor for the third time while Tavon Auston (WVU), Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska) and Dri Archer (Kent State) each were honored for the second time. The weekly recognition honors versatile, single-game performances throughout the season by FBS football players nationwide.

The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

Fans can now vote as often as once a day for the Paul Hornung Award at powered by Texas Roadhouse. All individuals that were on the preseason watch list or are selected for the Weekly Honor Roll are eligible for the fan voting. The top three players in the fan voting will earn points toward the selection of the Paul Hornung Award finalists in early December.

Week six honorees:

• Nebraska’s Ameer Abdullah had seven carries 28 yards two TDs, one catch eight yards, two punt returns for 49 yards and eight kickoff returns for 128 yards in a loss at Ohio State.

• West Virginia’s Tavon Austin caught 10 passes for 102 yards and a TD, one carry for six yards, one punt three yards three kickoffs for 111 yards in Mountaineers 48-45 win at Texas.

• Northwestern’s Venric Mark had 13 carries for 72 yards and one TD, two catches for six yards, two kickoff returns for 36 yards and a 75-yard punt return for a touchdown as the Wildcats lost at Penn State.

• Dri Archer from Kent State had eight carries for 72 yards and a touchdown, four catches for 52 yards and a touchdown and one kickoff return for 98 yards and a TD in a 41-14 win over Eastern Michigan.

Past Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll Selections

Week One: Giovani Bernard (North Carolina), Matt Brown (Temple), Marqise Lee (USC) and Venric Mark (Northwestern).

Week Two: Venric Mark (Northwestern), Johnthan Banks (Mississippi State) and Steven Manfro (UCLA).

Week Three: Antonio Andrews (Western Kentucky), De'Anthony Thomas (Oregon) and Duke Johnson (Miami).

Week Four: Duke Johnson (Miami) and Tavon Austin (West Virginia).

Week Five: Dri Archer (Kent State), Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska) and Jamal Miles (Arizona State)

Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse
Created by the Louisville Sports Commission in 2010, the Paul Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award is designed to promote college football and help preserve the legacy of one of Kentucky's best-known and accomplished athletes who has always called Louisville home. Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame and NFL MVP for the Green Bay Packers, set a single season NFL scoring record that stood 46 years. Paul is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame, and Vince Lombardi once called Hornung, “The most versatile man ever to play the game.” A national selection committee comprised of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award, and this year fan voting on Facebook will comprise the 17th vote. All votes are tabulated independently by regional accounting firm Dean Dorton Allen Ford. The winner is honored at a banquet presented by Jewish Hospital Sports Medicine in late January each year in downtown Louisville. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Louisville Sports Commission
The Louisville Sports Commission is a Kentucky-based 501 c-3 organization whose mission is to attract, host and create quality sporting events and activities in the Louisville area that increase economic vitality; enhance the quality of life; promote healthy lifestyles; and brand Louisville as a great place to live, work and play. For more information, visit and follow the Louisville Sports Commission on Twitter (@SportsinLou) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Texas Roadhouse
Based in Louisville, Kentucky, Texas Roadhouse opened its doors in 1993. In just 19 years, Texas Roadhouse has grown to more than 380 locations in 48 states. The company is famous for hand-cut steaks, made-from-scratch sides, fresh-baked bread, and its lively atmosphere. In 2007 and 2008 Forbes magazine ranked the company as one of the 200 Best Small Companies and in 2009 the company was ranked “Best Value” by readers of Consumer Reports magazine. For more information, visit

Copyright 2012. The Paul Hornung Award. All Rights Reserved.